Minutes from SIG: Documentation on 2024-06-22

Attendees:

Agenda

• Approval/Revision of Agenda
  • Introductions (Pyrox)
    • @pyrox: I’ve been a somewhat active contributer in nixpkgs. I’m in college for cybersecurity. I’m in Aux because I feel it’s a place to remodel nix into something maybe more modern.
    • @coded: I’m coded, I’m a leader of the docs group … working on getting the documentation to be more usable, particularly interested in beginner documentation.
    • @liketechnik: I’m Florian, I’ve used nix for ~3 years, and I’m in SIG: Docs because I’ve realized documentation is an important part of software, and it’s important to get it right for nix.
    • @8bitbuddhist: I’m Andre, I’m on the SIG: Docs team, I’ve written some stuff for new users. I’m somewhat new to the ecosystem. Right now my main focus is on getting a new user template working.
    • @minion: I’m Skyler, I’m the other leader of the docs group. I’m also in various other places in aux (steering, infra…), I’m looking to make Docs run smoothly, I want to make sure Aux is a great place for beginners to help them find what they need easily.
  • @minion / @coded: Forgejo CI (Buildbot)
    • @minion: We’ve had some experiments going on in the matrix…
    • @minion: We’ll look at getting something temporary up by next week, and once our infra is up we’ll move everything over to something more permanent.
  • @liketechnik: Where to find docs for specific pieces
  • @8bitbuddhist: New user guide on the wiki & expansion on the template
    • @8bitbuddhist: Still working on the new user template. Most of the system stuff is already there.
      • For context: it’s hard to get a more “traditional” system up and running, this is to help you quickly bootstrap a system with some reasonable defaults … hoping that should allow getting up something reasonable quickly
    • @8bitbuddhist: Right now I feel it’s in a pretty good spot. Maybe we should look at merging it in!