Hello Aux! Introductions

I believe introducing ourselves is a good way to start the off topic category. :slight_smile:

9 Likes

Hello, I’m Sigma, a 22yo CS student from France. I am a passionate developer that started almost 6 years ago by tinkering with python.

During my studies and also personally, I explored many domains from front-end with the Vue.js to back-end using PHP, database management and DevOps. Today I am happily continuing my journey by doing low level, C oriented shenanigans and well a bit of python which remain the language I have most experience on. I love digging into the detail of how a computer works and OS works, and also have an interest into the logic gates world.

I went to Linux a bit more than 3 years ago, by installing endeavour OS on my desktop, before going to Arch itself a bit later. Last year, I encountered Nix and NixOS, which blown me away from the first few minutes. Like many of us, It has completely changed my perspective on package management and what I expected of a distro to feel like.

Eventually, I made my small contributions into nixpkgs, shipping a few packages. Until now, my experience of nix was really appreciable and this is why I felt heart-broken when the recent event arrived, to me, by surprise.

I do not attend to leave the nix world, but I am still interested in participating in this fork, both as a learning opportunity and trying to help to see what is achievable.
I am happy to have made my way here this early in the project and hope for the best!

7 Likes

Hey fellow Auxers :wave:

I’m Noughty Pixel, your neighborhood penguin tamer who technically just celebrated my 4th birthday (gotta love those leap year quirks)!

I’ve been tinkering with pixels and code from a pretty young age. :video_game::sparkles:

I’m learning the craft of retro-style game design from my cozy little nook at Pricklepatch Pond; yeah, it’s as charming as it sounds.